Wet n Wild New Cushion Highlighter and Lipstick

Wet n Wild recently came out with a new line of cushion products, which is now available on their website and at Walgreens. They have a highlighter ($5.99), a contour ($5.99), 4 shades of color corrector ($5.99), and 3 matte lip creams ($4.99). Today I was able to pick up the highlighter and one of the lip shades (Bubblegum in Paradise) at Walgreens. I was curious to try them, and to see what a cushion lipstick entails.
dsc_0054This is the packaging before it’s open. I have to say Wet n Wild seems to have been stepping up it’s game lately. They have put out a lot of new products, and these are something different than you would typically find in the drugstore. The packaging is adorable – I love the design, and it is something new from what we typically see from Wet n Wild.

dsc_0062These are the opened products. The highlighter comes with a black sponge that you dip into the cushion to pick up the product, which is wet in the container. The black lid screws on. For the lipstick, it is a squeeze tube with a “cushion” applicator – which is really just a regular sponge tip.

First I swatched the highlighter. I tried it 3 ways – with the applicator it came with (top), with a real techniques sponge (middle), and with a brush(bottom). I also photographed it with and without flash. It swatches as a pearlescent glow with pink tones to it.

I think it applied most densely with the black sponge applicator (top), so if you wanted the most intense highlight it would be the best way to apply it, or with another dry sponge. If you wanted a more subtle, sheered out glow, you could use a wet sponge or brush and blend more into the skin.

IMG_2395.JPGIt looks good on the skin! It isn’t too intense, but you can definitely see it in direct light. This is something I would wear on an every day basis, or even if I just wanted to add a little something to my skin on days I don’t wear foundation.

I was more disappointed with the lipstick, because the applicator made it hard to work with. I first swatched it on my arm – if you apply in a swiping motion (bottom) you will get a sheer wash of color. If you wanted it fully pigmented and opaque, you would need to apply in a dabbing motion to build up the color in each spot.

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

I applied it to my lips, which I found difficult because the sponge applicator is too big and round to get precision in the edges and corners of the lips. I did have to go back and clean up any messy areas.

It does look matte on the lips, but feels mousey and does not dry down. The color also wasn’t what I was expecting from looking at the tube. This isn’t a lip product I would find myself reaching for or wanting to use, because it isn’t easy to apply, and because there is transfer, I would be reapplying at least a few times throughout the day. At the $5 price point, I would much rather go for a Colourpop ultra satin lip, which I can throw on easily in the morning and not worry about for the rest of the day. Wet n Wild also has the new Liquid Catsuit lipsticks, which have a much better applicator, dry down, and last well. They are also $4.99, so you would be much better off grabbing one of those.

I will definitely be using the highlighter more, and I think I may pick up the contour or color correctors if I can find them! The highlighter and contour do only come in one shade, so these aren’t something that will work for everyone. For darker skinned people, the highlighter will be too light, and from what I can see, the contour seems to be too dark for people with very pale skin.

Has anyone else tried these new products? What did you think?

If you like this post, and want to see more like it, I’d appreciate if you would follow me!

 

One thought on “Wet n Wild New Cushion Highlighter and Lipstick

Leave a Reply

